Other

How to Create a Fairyland Photo With Adobe Photoshop

How to Create a Fairyland Photo With Adobe Photoshop

👁 0 views

🇻🇳 Đọc bằng tiếng Việt

How to Create a Fairyland Photo With Adobe Photoshop
Final product image
In today’s post, I’ll show you how to use Adobe Photoshop to create a fairyland photo scene based on “Alice in Wonderland”.
First, we’ll build the main scene using some stock images. Then, we’ll add flowers and plants and blend them together using layers, masking, and brushes. After that, we’ll add a rabbit and eyes for the tree, plus some mist to enhance the dreamy feel of the scene. We’ll use several adjustment layers to complete the final effect.

Table of contents 6 items
  1. What You’ll Need
  2. 4. How to Add the Mushrooms
  3. 5. How to Add the Rabbit
  4. 6. How to Add Eyes to the Tree
  5. 7. Final Adjustments
  6. We’re Done!

The following resources were used to create this effect:

1. How to Build the Base Scene
Step 1
Create a new 2000 x 1333 px document in Photoshop with the given settings:
new file
Step 2
Open the forest image. Drag this image onto the white canvas using the Move Tool (V).
add forest
Step 3
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Color Balance and set it as a Clipping Mask
Change the Midtones values to make the forest more yellow.
forest color balance
Step 4
Create a new adjustment layer with Curves to darken the forest. On this layer mask, activate the Brush Tool (B) and choose a soft round brush with black color. Use this brush to erase the middle of the background, as we’re planning to add the main light source there.
forest curves 1
Step 5
Create another Curves adjustment layer to increase the haze of the forest, especially on the left. Use a soft black brush to paint on the rest so it won’t be affected by this adjustment layer.
forest curves 2
Step 6
Add a Curves adjustment layer to make the forest darker. Paint in the middle so it doesn’t get darkened.
forest curves 3
Step 7
Open the path 1 image and move it into the main canvas. Use the Free Transform Tool (Control-T) to distort the image’s perspective a little.
add path 1
Flip the image horizontally by choosing Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal.
path 1 flipped horizontally
Step 8
Click the second icon at the bottom of the Layer panel to add a mask to this layer.
Use the soft black brush to remove the fences and both sides of the path so that only the middle part is visible on the existing midground.
path 1 masking
Step 9
Use the Lasso Tool to select the sunny area at the top of the path and set the feather for it to 10:
path 1 selection
Go to Layer > New Adjustment Layer > Hue Saturation and set it as a Clipping Mask.
Change the Master settings to saturate this selected area.
path 1 selection hue saturation
Step 10
Use a Color Balance adjustment layer to match the color of the path to the background.
path 1 color balance
Step 11
Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the path. On this layer mask, use a soft black brush to erase the middle and top of the path.

path 1 curves 1

Step 12
Create another Curves adjustment layer with the same purpose. The selected area shows where to paint on the layer mask.
path 1 curves 2
Step 13
Add another Curves adjustment layer to make the top of the path hazier. Paint on the rest so it isn’t affected by this adjustment layer.
path 1 curves 3
2. How to Add Flowers and Plants
Step 1
Open the path 2 image. Use the Lasso Tool to select the left side of the path with flowers and place it on the left of the main canvas.
add path 2
Add a mask to this layer and use a soft black brush to remove the hard edges and blend it with the existing ground.
path 2 maskingStep 2
Add the right side of the flower path from the original image to the right of the canvas.
add other sides of path 2
other sides masking
Step 3
Select the flower layers and press Control-G to group them. Change the mode of this group to Normal 100% and create a Color Balance adjustment layer to change the flower color a little.
path 2 color balance
Step 4
Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the flowers. On the layer mask, use a soft black brush to lighten the effect on the shadow areas.
path 2 curves
Step 5
Open the plants 2 image and use the Lasso Tool to select the plant area, then add it to the right corner of the ground.
add plants 2
Use a layer mask to remove the unwanted red details.
plants 2 masking
Step 6
Create a Hue Saturation adjustment layer and change the Midtones values.
plants 2 hue saturation
Step 7
Add a Curves adjustment layer to add light to the plants.
plants 2 curves 1
Step 8
Create a Curves adjustment layer to increase the shadows a little.
plants 2 curves 2
Step 9
Create a new layer below the plant layer and use a soft brush with the color # 100303 and Opacity around 40% to paint shadows under them.
plants 2 shadow
Step 10
Drag the plants 1 image into the document and place it on the right side of the path. Put this layer below the flower path layers.
add plants 1
Use a layer mask to remove the parts covering the midground of the path.
plants 1 masking
Step 11
Create a Color Balance adjustment layer and change the Midtones settings, making the color of the plants redder and stronger.
plants 1 color balance
Step 12
Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the plants.
plants 1 curves
Step 13
Open the flower 1 image. Cut out the flower using the Magic Wand Tool (W) and place it on the right edge of the main canvas.
add flower 1

Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur with Radius 6 px. This step increases the depth of the scene.
flower 1 gaussian blur
Step 15
Create a Hue Saturation adjustment layer to change the color of the flower.
flower 1 hue saturation
Step 16
Create a Color Balance adjustment layer to make the flower more orange.
flower 1 color balance
Step 17
Add a Curves adjustment layer to darken the flower.
flower 1 curves
Step 18
Apply a Gaussian Blur 6 px to this layer to make the flower softer and give it depth.
add flower 2

Use a Hue/Saturation adjustment layer to saturateflower 2 hue saturation

Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the flower. Use a soft black brush to paint on the front of this flower so it isn’t affected by this effect.

flower 2 curves

3. How to Composite the Trees

Step 1
Cut the tree out of the tree 1 image and add it to the left of the canvas. Use a layer mask to remove the unneeded parts .
add tree 1
tree 1 masking

Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the tree. Use a soft black brush to create the tree’s shadow

tree 1 curves
Step 3
Open the tree 2 image and use the Polygonal Lasso Tool to select the whole front tree. Place it on top of the tree 1 image and use a layer mask to blend the two trees together.
add tree 2
tree 2 masking

Use a Hue Saturation adjustment layer to blend the colors of the two trees together

tree 2 hue saturation

Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the tree.

tree 2 curves 1

Use another Curves adjustment layer to increase the haziness of the base next to the top of the path, creating a fitting softness for the scene. The selected area shows where to paint on the layer mask.

tree 2 curves 2

Create a new layer, change it to Overlay 100% and 50% gray.

tree 2 DB new layer

Activate the Dodge Tool (O) to paint more light onto the outline of the tree. Below are the two modes: Normal and Overlay.

tree 2 D B results

Cut tree 3 out of its background and add it to the top of the existing tree. Use Control-T and Warp to change the shape of the tree a little.

add tree 3

Go to Edit > Puppet Warp to bend the tree a little. Then, use a layer mask to blend this part with the existing tree.

tree 3 puppet warp
tree 3 masking

Create a Curves adjustment layer to make this part of the tree a little darker. On this layer mask, use a soft black brush to reduce the effect on areas you feel are dark enough.

tree 3 curves 1

Use another Curves adjustment layer to make this part of the tree, and especially the front, hazier.

tree 3 curves 2

Create a new layer, change it to Overlay 100%  and 50% gray. Use the Dodge Tool to brighten the outline of the tree trunk.

tree 3 DB

Step 1
Extract mushroom 1 from its background and add it to the right of the path. Use a layer mask to blend the base of the mushroom with the ground.

add mushroom 1

Create a Color Balance adjustment layer to change the color of the mushroom a little.

mushroom 1 color balance

Create a Curves adjustment layer to adjust the brightness of the mushroom. Paint on the shadow area of the mushroom so it isn’t affected by this adjustment layer.

mushroom 1 curves 1

Curves adjustment layer to enhance the shadow area of the mushroom.

mushroom 1 curves 2

Create a new layer, change the settings to Overlay 100% and 50% gray. Use the Dodge and Burn Toolto to adjust the light and shadow of the mushroom.

mushroom DB

To create a shadow for the mushroom, create a new layer below the mushroom layer. Hold Control and click the thumbnail of the mushroom layer to make a selection.

mushroom 1 selection

Fill the selection with the color #100303 and flip it vertically. Use Control-T to transform the shadow to match the direction of the light source.

mushroom 1 shadow transforming

Reduce the Opacity of the layer to 50% and apply a Gaussian Blur 8 px to this layer.

mushroom 1 shadow gaussian blur

Use the layer mask to reduce the opacity of the shadow, especially the part close to the ground.

mushroom 1 shadow masking

Open the mushrooms 2 image. Cut out the mushrooms in mushrooms 2 and place them next to the existing mushroom.

add mushrooms 2

Use a layer mask to blend the color of the mushrooms with the ground.

mushrooms 2 masking

Group the mushroom layers and add them to a Hue Saturation adjustment layer in the group to desaturate the mushrooms. Change it to Master.

mushrooms 2 hue saturation

Create a Color Balance adjustment layer to change the color of the mushrooms

mushrooms 2 color balance

Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the mushroom stems, especially the shadow areas of the mushrooms. On the layer mask, brighten the front of the mushrooms, where they are lit by the light.

mushrooms 2 curves

Isolate mushroom 3 and place it near the top of the path. Use a layer mask to blend the color of the mushroom base with the ground, as we did with the other mushrooms.

add mushroom 3

Create a shadow for this mushroom as we did earlier, following the direction of the light.

mushroom 3 shadow

Create a Hue Saturation adjustment layer and set it to Master.

mushroom 3 hue saturation

Create a new layer, change it to Overlay 100% and 50% gray. Use the Burn Tool to darken the right side of the mushroom.

mushroom 3 DB

Add a Curves adjustment layer to add more shadow to the mushroom. Paint on the right side of the mushroom.

mushroom 3 curves 1

Create a Curves adjustment layer to improve the haze on the mushroom, since it is close to the background light. On this layer mask, paint on the right side of the mushroom so it is less affected by this Curves adjustment layer.

Import mushroom 4 into the document and create a shadow for it, as with the mushrooms we did earlier.

add mushroom 4

Use a Hue/Saturation adjustment layer to desaturate the mushroom.

mushroom 4 hue saturation

Create a Curves adjustment layer to darken the shadow of the mushroom.

mushroom 4 curves

Create a new layer, change the settings to Overlay 100% and 50% gray. Use the Burn Tool to enhance the shadow of the mushroom.

mushroom 4 DB

Continue adding mushroom 5 using the same techniques.

add mushroom 5
mushroom 5 color balance
mushroom 5 curves 1
mushroom 5 curves 2
mushroom 5 DB

Import mushrooms 6 as we did with the previous mushrooms.

add mushrooms 6
mushrooms 6 hue saturation
mushrooms 6 curves 1
mushrooms 6 curves 2
mushrooms 6 DB

Add mushrooms 7 using the same methods.

add mushrooms 7
mushrooms 7 hue saturation
mushrooms 7 color balance
mushrooms 7 curves 1
mushrooms 7 curves 2
mushrooms 7 DB

Open the rabbit image. Since it has a transparent background, we just need to open the Move Tool to drag the rabbit onto the tree.

add rabbit

Create a new layer under the rabbit. Use a soft brush with the color #100303 to paint a shadow under the rabbit’s feet.

rabbit shadow 1

Create a slightly longer shadow, as we did with the previous objects.

rabbit shadow 2

The light and shadow on the rabbit’s body don’t match the lighting of the background. To fix it, use the Dodge Tool to paint highlights on the outline and front of the rabbit, and the Burn Tool to paint shadows on the other sides of the rabbit.

rabbit DB

Open the owl eyes image. Use the Lasso Tool to select one eye and drag it onto the tree trunk. Use Control-T to adjust the eye a little.

add eye to tree

Use a layer mask to blend the eye with the tree trunk.

eye masking

Add the other eye the same way as the one you just added

add another eye

Create a new layer on top of the layers and use a soft brush with the color #e2e0de and Opacity around 30% and 80-90% to paint some more light on the path and around the tree. Use a layer mask to reduce the opacity of the mist/haze and enhance the dreamy feel a little.

add mist
mist masking

Create a Gradient Map adjustment layer on top of the layers and choose the colors #e10019 and #00601b. Reduce the Opacity of this layer to 20%.

whole scene gradient map

Create a Color Fill layer and choose the color#1b0505. Change the setting to Exclusion 100%.

whole scene color fill

Add a Color Balance adjustment layer and change the settings for Midtones and Highlights.

whole scene color balance midtones
whole scene color balance highlights

Create a Selective Color adjustment layer to change the color of the flowers/plants.

whole scene selective color

Choose a Photo Filter adjustment layer and choose the color #0048ec.

whole scene photo filter 1

Create another Photo Filter adjustment layer and change the color to #00ec1c.

whole scene photo filter 2

Add a Curves adjustment layer to add light to the middle area.
whole scene curves 1

Use a Curves adjustment layer to increase the shadows on both sides and in the foreground.
whole scene curves 2

Create an adjustment layer to enhance the lighting effect.
final result

As always, keep experimenting with different techniques, and don’t forget to post your work below, along with any questions, comments or critiques!

final result

 
 

Have a question? Ask the groupFacebook group Ask Anything (in Vietnamese): free Q&A on any topic, with real answers.Join the group →
Hoang Ngoc Quang Anh

Sharing computer, Windows and software tips. If you have a question, leave a comment below.

Rate this article
0 (0 ratings)
0 comments
Need faster help? Join the Facebook group Cộng Đồng Công Nghệ